Faculty and Staff Directory

Counseling and Family Sciences

Winetta Oloo, PhD, MS, LMFT
Winetta A. Oloo, PhD, MS, LMFT
Chair, Department of Counseling and Family Sciences
Associate Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Interim Director, Clinical Mediation Certificate
Areas: recovery-oriented care, clinical supervision, adolescent and transitional-aged youth development, treating severe mental illness
Email woloo@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 42099
Michelle Minyard-Widmann, MS, CCLS
Michelle A. Minyard-Widmann, MS, CCLS
Associate Chair, Department of Counseling and Family Sciences
Assistant Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Director, Child Life Specialist MS Program
Areas: child development, stress and coping in the hospital environment, grief and loss
Email maminyard@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47072
Bryan Cafferky, PhD, MS, MDiv
Bryan Cafferky, PhD, MS, MDiv
Assistant Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Areas: meta-analysis, structural equation modeling, qualitative research, Bowen family systems, family violence, military families
Email bcafferky@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47002
Brian Distelberg, PhD, MA
Brian J. Distelberg, PhD, MA
Associate Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Areas: research methodologies, statistics, community and organizational systems, multivariate analysis, community based research, social and behavioral health
Email bdistelberg@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47019
Zephon D. Lister, PhD, MS, MA, LMFT
Zephon D. Lister, PhD, MS, MA, LMFT
Associate Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Director, Systems, Families, and Couples PhD Program
Areas: couples and chronic illness, medical family therapy/integrated behavioral health, religion and family functioning, trauma informed couples therapy
Email zlister@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47009
Lena Lopez Bradley, PhD, LMFT
Lena Lopez Bradley, PhD, MS, LMFT
Assistant Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Director of Clinical Training, MFT Programs
Areas: couples therapy, at-risk youth, anger management, crisis intervention and trauma, clinical training and supervision, school-based programs, mandated clients, program development
Email llopezbradley@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47010
Mary E. Moline, DrPH, PhD, MPH, MS
Mary E. Moline, DrPH, PhD, MPH, MS
Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Director, Marital and Family Therapy MS Program
Areas: treatment of couples, legal and ethical issues, family theory, group therapy
Email mmoline@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47004
Nichola Ribadu, DMFT, LMFT
Nichola Ribadu, DMFT
Assistant Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Areas: at-risk youth, group homes for at-risk youth, program development, staff development and trainings (group home, managed care, community mental health), community mental health, professional mentoring, narrative therapy, diversity, self-of-therapist
Email nribadu@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47005
Alisha Saavedra, MA, CCLS
Alisha Saavedra, MA, CCLS
Assistant Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Director of Clinical Training, Child Life Specialist MS Program
Areas: child development, stress and coping in the hospital environment, grief and loss
Email asaavedra@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47225
Randall Walker, MS, LMFT
Randall Walker, MS, LMFT
Assistant Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Director, LLU Counseling and Family Sciences Clinic
Director, Drug and Alcohol Counseling Certificate
Interim Director, Counseling MS Program and School Counseling Certificate
Areas: substance use treatment, cognitive behavioral therapy
Email rrwalker@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 39568
Jackie Williams-Reade, PhD, MS
Jacqueline M. Williams-Reade, PhD, MS
Associate Professor, Counseling and Family Sciences
Areas: medical family therapy, adult and pediatric illness, palliative and hospice care, grief, qualitative research, narrative therapy, spirituality and meaning-making, women's professional development in academia
Email jwilliamsreade@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47025

Administrative Staff

Suzanne Monell
Administrative Assistant Senior
Email smonell@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47001
Griggs Hall, Room 209

Patrice Harris
Administrative Assistant
Doctoral Programs
Email pdharris@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-4547, ext. 47003
Griggs Hall, Room 202

Psychology

David A. Vermeersch, PhD
David A. Vermeersch, PhD
Chair, Department of Psychology
Professor, Psychology
Areas: psychotherapy outcome, psychotherapy quality management, therapist effects on outcome, effects of therapist/patient feedback on outcome, reducing deterioration in psychotherapy, effectiveness and patient-focused research, outcome test construction
Email dvermeersch@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-7116
Kendal C. Boyd, PhD
Kendal C. Boyd, PhD
Associate Chair, Department of Psychology
Associate Professor, Psychology
Director of Clinical Training, PsyD Program
Areas: psychology of religion, spirituality/religion in psychotherapy, factor analysis
Email kboyd@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8574
Holly E.R. Morrell, PhD
Holly E. R. Morrell, PhD
Associate Professor, Psychology
Director of Clinical Training, PhD Program
Areas: adolescent cigarette smoking prevention, e-cigarette use, smoking cessation and mental illness, addiction, advanced multivariate analysis
Email hmorrell@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-7221
Adam L. Arechiga, PsyD, DrPH
Adam L. Aréchiga, PsyD, DrPH, MA
Associate Professor, Psychology
Areas: Clinical health psychology, obesity management, lifestyle change, health promotion and preventive care, and trauma, pain, and anxiety
Email aarechiga@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8717
Hector M. Betancourt, PhD
Hector M. Betancourt, PhD
Professor, Psychology
Areas: social, cultural, and health psychology, cognition (attribution)-emotion processes in interpersonal and inter-group behavior, role of culture in psychological processes and behavior, culture, diversity, and behavior in health and social issues, cultural and psychological factors in social inequities and health disparities
Email hbetancourt@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8708
Maya Boustani, PhD, MS
Maya Boustani, PhD, MS
Assistant Professor, Psychology
Areas: Child and adolescent evidence-based treatments, Mental health prevention and promotion, Community-based research, and Dissemination and implementation research
Email mboustani@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8717
Colleen A. Brenner, PhD
Colleen A. Brenner, PhD
Associate Professor, Psychology
Areas: serious mental illness (focus on schizophrenia and bipolar disorder), clinical neuropsychology, electroencephalography (EEG), resiliency, self-efficacy, overall health, and well-being in serious mental illness
Email cbrenner@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8617
Patricia M. Flynn, PhD, MPH
Patricia M. Flynn, PhD
Assistant Professor, Psychology
Areas: cultural and health psychology, health disparities and inequities, cultural and psychological factors in both health behavior and outcome, cultural competence training in graduate medical education, implicit bias in patient-provider clinical interactions
Email pflynn@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-7738
Paul E. Haerich, PhD
Paul E. Haerich, PhD
Professor, Psychology
Areas: cognitive psychology, cognitive neuroscience, attention and affect, information processing and emotion, ionizing radiation effects on CNS function
Email phaerich@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8707
Richard E. Hartman, PhD
Richard E. Hartman, PhD
Professor, Psychology
Areas: behavioral neuroscience, experimental psychology
Email rhartman@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8709
Grace J. Lee, PhD
Grace J. Lee, PhD
Assistant Professor, Psychology
Areas: clinical neuropsychology, cognitive aging, neurodegenerative disorders, neuroimaging correlates of cognition and behavior
Email gracelee@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8710
Kelly R. Morton, PhD
Kelly R. Morton, PhD
Professor, Psychology
Professor, Family Medicine, School of Medicine
Areas: relationship between early life stress, negative emotions, and physical health outcomes, stress and health, social support and health, religion and health, care quality in primary care, primary care psychology
Email kmorton@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8721
Cameron L. Neece, PhD
Cameron L. Neece, PhD
Associate Professor, Psychology
Areas: developmental psychology, childhood disorder (emphasis on intellectual disabilities, autism, and disruptive behavior disorders), parenting and family processes, treatment outcome research (focus on mindfulness approaches)
Email cneece@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8615
Tori R. Van Dyk, PhD
Tori R. Van Dyk, PhD
Assistant Professor, Psychology
Areas: pediatric health psychology, pediatric health behavior promotion and intervention, behavioral sleep medicine, interaction between physical and mental health in youth
Email tvandyk@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-7412

Administrative Staff

Shari Lane
Administrative Assistant to the Chair
Admissions and Records Coordinator
Email slane@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8577

Lesley Taylor
Senior Administrative Assistant to the Chair
Clinical Training Coordinator
Email litaylor@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-8706

Social Work

Beverly Buckles, DSW
Beverly J. Buckles, DSW
Dean, School of Behavioral Health
Chair, Department of Social Work and Social Ecology
Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Email bbuckles@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-7572
Kim Freeman, PhD, MSW
Kimberly R. Freeman, PhD, MSW
Executive Associate Chair, Department of Social Work and Social Ecology
Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Director, Master of Social Work (MSW), Criminal Justice MS, Gerontology MS Programs, and Play Therapy Certificate
Areas: child mental health, child trauma, adolescent self-harm
Email kfreeman@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7589
Qais Alemi, PhD, MPH, MBA
Qais Alemi, PhD, MPH, MBA
Assistant Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: conflict-affected populations, refugee health, discrimination and mental health, use of modern and traditional health care delivery systems, cultural consensus modeling
Email qalemi@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7592
Kelly Baek, PhD, MSW
Kelly Baek, PhD, MSW
Assistant Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: mental health, culturally-sensitive interventions, program development and evaluation, community-based research, social work curriculum development
Email kbaek@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7583
Monte Butler, PhD, MSW
Monte Butler, PhD, MSW
Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: social work administration, Medicare
Email mdbutler@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7584
G. Victoria Jackson, EdD, MSW, LCSW
G. Victoria Jackson, EdD, MSW, LCSW
Assistant Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: gerontology - successful aging, child welfare - transitional foster youth, human trafficking
Email vjackson@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7582
Talolo Lepale, MSW, MBA, LCSW
Talolo Lepale, MSW, MBA, LCSW
Assistant Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Director, Field Education
Areas: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR), Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT), individual psychotherapy, team building, psychosocial oncology, medical social work, working with adults and older adults, trauma, anxiety, depression, grief, and end-of-life
Email tlepale@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7581
Allison Maxwell, MSW, LCSW
Allison Maxwell-Johnson, MSW, LCSW
Assistant Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: psychodynamic/psychoanalytic psychotherapy, long term work, personality disorders, dysthymia/depression, anxiety, working with adults and older adults, individual psychotherapy
Email agmaxwell@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-9134
Susanne Montgomery, PhD, MPH, MS
Susanne B. Montgomery, PhD, MPH, MS
Associate Dean for Research, School of Behavioral Health
Director of Research, Behavioral Health Institute
Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: research design and analyses, translational research (clinical and applied), community involved and based research, health disparities research, program evaluation and evaluation research
Email smontgomery@llu.edu
Phone 909-651-5881
Larry Ortiz, PhD, MSW
Larry Ortiz, PhD, MSW
Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Director, Social Policy and Social Research PhD Program
Areas: race and ethnic studies, critical theory, Latino/a issues, community practice, program evaluation, social justice practice
Email larryortiz@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7585

Administrative Staff

Doreen Cornejo
Administrative Assistant Senior
Email dmcornejo@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7572

Sheri Ryder
Administrative Assistant Senior
Email sryder@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7590