Department of Social Work | School of Behavioral Health | Loma Linda University
Dismiss Alert

COVID-19

Fall Quarter Updates and Student Guidelines COVID-19 Donations

Due to COVID-19, email communication is preferred at this time. Thank you for your understanding!

Kimberly R. Freeman, PhD, MSW

Kimberly R. Freeman, PhD, MSW

Executive Associate Chair, Department of Social Work and Social Ecology
Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Director, Master of Social Work (MSW), Criminal Justice MS, Gerontology MS Programs, and Play Therapy Certificate
Areas: child mental health, child trauma, adolescent self-harm
Email kfreeman@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7589

Qais Alemi, PhD, MPH, MBA

Qais Alemi, PhD, MPH, MBA

Associate Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: conflict-affected populations, refugee health, discrimination and mental health, use of modern and traditional health care delivery systems, cultural consensus modeling
Email qalemi@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7592

Kelly Baek, PhD, MSW

Kelly Baek, PhD, MSW

Assistant Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: mental health, culturally-sensitive interventions, program development and evaluation, community-based research, social work curriculum development
Email kbaek@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7583

Talolo Lepale, MSW, MBA, LCSW

Talolo Lepale, MSW, MBA, LCSW

Assistant Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Director, Field Education
Areas: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR), Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT), individual psychotherapy, team building, psychosocial oncology, medical social work, working with adults and older adults, trauma, anxiety, depression, grief, and end-of-life
Email tlepale@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7581

Susanne B. Montgomery, PhD, MPH, MS

Susanne B. Montgomery, PhD, MPH, MS

Associate Dean for Research, School of Behavioral Health
Director of Research, Behavioral Health Institute
Head, Division of Interdisciplinary Studies
Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Areas: research design and analyses, translational research (clinical and applied), community-involved and -based research, health disparities research, program evaluation and evaluation research
Email smontgomery@llu.edu
Phone 909-651-5881

Larry Ortiz, PhD, MSW

Larry Ortiz, PhD, MSW

Professor, Social Work and Social Ecology
Director, Social Policy and Social Research PhD Program
Areas: race and ethnic studies, critical theory, Latino/a issues, community practice, program evaluation, social justice practice
Email larryortiz@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7585

Administrative Staff

Doreen Cornejo
Administrative Assistant Senior
Email dmcornejo@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7572

Sheri Ryder
Administrative Assistant Senior
Email sryder@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7590