A Seventh-day Adventist Organization

Department of Social Work

Beverly Buckles, DSW
Beverly J. Buckles, DSW
Dean of the School of Behavioral Health, Chair of the Department of Social Work & Social Ecology, Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology
Email bbuckles@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-7572
Qais Alemi, PhD, MPH, MBA
Qais Alemi, PhD, MPH, MBA
Assistant Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology
Areas: conflict-affected populations, refugee health, discrimination and mental health, use of modern and traditional health care delivery systems, cultural consensus modeling
Email qalemi@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7592
Monte Butler, PhD, MSW
Monte Butler, PhD, MSW
Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology
Areas: social work administration, Medicare
Email mdbutler@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7584
Kim Freeman, PhD, MSW
Kimberly R. Freeman, PhD, MSW
Executive Associate Chair of the Department of Social Work & Social Ecology, Director of the Master of Social Work, Master of Criminal Justice and Master of Gerontology Programs, Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology
Areas: child mental health, child trauma, adolescent self-harm
Email kfreeman@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7589
G. Victoria Jackson, EdD, MSW, LCSW
G. Victoria Jackson, EdD, MSW, LCSW
Assistant Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology, Field Faculty
Areas: gerontology - successful aging, child welfare - transitional foster youth, human trafficking
Email vjackson@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7582
Talolo Lepale, MSW, MBA, LCSW
Talolo Lepale, MSW, MBA, LCSW
Assistant Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology, Director of Field Education
Areas: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR), Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT), individual psychotherapy, team building, psychosocial oncology, medical social work, working with adults and older adults, trauma, anxiety, depression, grief, and end-of-life
Email tlepale@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7581
Viola Lindsey, PhD, MSW
Viola W. Lindsey, PhD, MSW
Assistant Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology, Title IV-E Project Coordinator
Areas: qualitative research, social policy, child welfare policy, ethics in health and mental health policy, interprofessional collaboration
Email vlindsey@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7583
Allison Maxwell, MSW, LCSW
Allison Maxwell, MSW, LCSW
Assistant Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology
Areas: psychodynamic/psychoanalytic psychotherapy, long term work, personality disorders, dysthymia/depression, anxiety, working with adults and older adults, individual psychotherapy
Email agmaxwell@llu.edu
Phone 909-558-9134
Susanne Montgomery, PhD, MPH, MS
Susanne B. Montgomery, PhD, MPH, MS
Associate Dean for Research for the School of Behavioral Health, Director of Research at the Behavioral Health Institute, Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology
Areas: research design and analyses, translational research (clinical and applied), community involved and based research, health disparities research, program evaluation and evaluation research
Email smontgomery@llu.edu
Phone 909-651-5881
Larry Ortiz, PhD, MSW
Larry Ortiz, PhD, MSW
Director of the PhD in Social Policy & Social Research Program, Professor of Social Work & Social Ecology
Areas: race and ethnic studies, critical theory, Latino/a issues, community practice, program evaluation, social justice practice
Email larryortiz@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7585

Administrative Staff

Sheri Ryder
Administrative Assistant Senior
Email sryder@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7590

Shannon Giles
Administrative Assistant Senior
Email sagiles@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7572

Patricia Villa
Research Specialist
Email patriciavilla@llu.edu
Phone 909-379-7571